Letterfrack Poetry Trail




The Letterfrack Poetry Trail was conceived as a fitting celebration to mark the thirtieth anniversary of Conamara Environmental, Educational & Cultural Centre (CEECC).  It was launched by President Michael D. Higgins on 17th October 2014.

The Poetry Trail consists of nine specially-commissioned poems from leading poets in Ireland. In the following year, 2015, President Higgins gifted one of his poems for inclusion on the Poetry Trail.  The poems explore the theme of place. They are located on plaques in the Connemara National Park, the Connemara West Centre and the village of Letterfrack thus linking the three sites and creating the opportunity for a meditative walk.  This book contains all ten poems with additional information on the poets and on the poems.

Since its launch, The Letterfrack Poetry Trail has seen thousands of visitors descend on the trail that includes poems by President Michael D. Higgins, Paula Meehan, Louis de Paor, Mary O’Malley, Joan McBreen, Eva Bourke, Theo Dorgan, Rita Ann Higgins, Moya Cannon and Michael Gorman.

The Letterfrack Poetry Trail book and CD was launched on June 4th 2017, during Bog Week in Connemara (May 28th – June 5th).

The accompanying CD carries recordings of all ten poets reading their work, original musical compositions by Conor Keane, and a song, in sean-nós style, by Séamus Ó Flatharta.


Go to Top