The anthology fermata: Writers inspired by Music edited by Eva Bourke and Vincent Woods, brings together an enviable collection of poets and prose writers who share a love of music.  A fermata in musical notation is a pause or a hold extending the length of the note played, literally a breathing space. This collection of poems and prose writings closely engages with music, from classical to traditional, jazz and blues to rock music. It is a chorus of diverse and lively voices in response to the most beloved of all the arts.

Amongst the poets/writers included are: Ken Bruen, Moya Cannon, Ciaran Carson, Harry Clifton, Theo Dorgan, Paul Durcan, Peter Fallon, Leonita Flynn, Hugo Hamilton, Eamon Grennan, James Harpur, Seamus Heaney, Rita Ann Higgins, Pearse Hutchinson, Thomas Kinsella, Michael Longley, Joan McBreen, Paula Meehan, John Montague, Sinéad Morrissey, Dennis O’Driscoll, Brian Leyden, Justin Quinn, Gabriel Rosenstock, Colm Tóibin, and David Wheatley.  The foreword is by Michéal Ó Súílleabháin, and beautiful evocative photographs by Christy McNamara are sensitively employed in the book.